Connect To Windows Share with Fedora 11

Before trying connect to a shared folder through the network, you will need to install samba and allow access through your firewall.   Fedora 11 does not come with samba and also does not allow samba access through the firewall by default; at least for me.

To install samba just run sudo yum install samba, and then after samba is installed, run sudo service smb start to turn on the smb service.  The last step to being able to connect to a shared folder is to enable samba access through the firewall.  To do this, first go to System -> Administration -> Firewall.  On the trusted services list check off samba and samba-client.

The easiest way to connect to a shared folder on the network is to go to Places -> Network, and then just click your way to where you want to go.

9 Responses to “Connect To Windows Share with Fedora 11”


  1. 1 kauzuak November 15, 2009 at 4:48 AM

    Very nice, short and sweet! Thanks, worked like a champ for me, and didn’t have to sort through my old Samba cryptology book! I love this type of support that you can only find for linux. I should have switched fully cold turkey years ago …..

  2. 2 hallvard November 29, 2009 at 10:26 PM

    hmm …. I got a “failed” message when I tried starting the SMB service

  3. 3 Brad November 30, 2009 at 2:22 AM

    hallvard, is this on fedora 11 or fedora 12? I just tested it out on Fedora 12 and I have no issues.

  4. 4 Zack December 21, 2009 at 10:51 PM

    I have the same issue as hallvard im running fedora 11 and after trying sudo service smb start it says failed

  5. 5 Higgie May 22, 2010 at 2:19 AM

    Awesome, I am completely a windows guide and been running Fedora about 2 hours and this guide easily helped me get to my home Windows network.

    Thank you,

  6. 6 Daniel B July 18, 2010 at 5:02 AM

    Great post. Helped me out connecting to Home Server from Fedora 13. Doesn’t make sense to me the firewall would be blocking outbound traffic like this, but oh well.

  7. 7 Dirk V October 25, 2010 at 9:15 PM

    Great writeup – short, understandable and accurate. Kudos.

  8. 8 Jackson March 29, 2011 at 10:36 PM

    One of the best blog i have seen recently..

  9. 9 SpiritFire July 19, 2011 at 11:26 AM

    Thanks! Short, sweet, to the point. Works on Fedora 13 as well.


Leave a Reply

